Support Groups

Support Groups

Due to COVID-19, some support groups are meeting remotely or are currently not meeting.  Please reach out to the group leader for the most up to date information.

These support groups are for people with Parkinson’s and their caregivers. Each support group is facilitated by a peer, care partner or health professional. The format of each support group varies, but many have monthly speakers who speak about topics such as nutrition, exercise, physical therapy, and voice therapy.
If you are interested in starting a support group in your area, please contact Susan Callison, the Program Coordinator at 515-782-4386 or apdaiowa@apdaparkinson.org

The Iowa Chapter of the  APDA provides an opportunity for an annual $300 grant to each support group in Iowa. To apply, please contact us here. 


See the list below for current support groups in Iowa

City/CountyLeader/PhoneLocation
Ackley/Hardin CountyAlan Keninger
alankeninger@hotmail.com
641-521-6433
Ackley Civic Center
640 Main St.
Ackley IA 50601
Algona/Kossuth CountyGreg Bradley
executivedirector@algonaymca.org
515-295-7701
Exercise group also available
YMCA
Algona, IA 50511
Ames/Story CountyElizabeth Stegemoller
esteg@iastate.edu
515-294-5966
http://www.neuromotorlab.com/
First Baptist Church of Ames
200 Lynn Ave
Ames, IA 50010
Anamosa/Jones CountyAllison Niedermann
Allison.Niedermann@unitypoint.org
319-481-6195
Delay the Disease exercise group on hold due to covid
UnityPoint Health – Jones Regional Medical Center
1795 HWY 64 East
Anamosa, IA 52205
Ankeny/Polk CountyOn With Life
Tammy Miller
tammy.miller@onwithlife.org
515-289-9662
Currently meeting on Zoom, plans to resume Hybrid meeting (in person and on Zoom)
Kreg Tool
Ankeny, Iowa
Ankeny/ Polk CountyColleen Miller
colleen.miller@rockvalleypt.com
515-264-2559
Exercise group also available
Rock Valley Physical Therapy
1705 N Ankeny Blvd Suite A
Ankeny, IA 50023
Atlantic/Cass CountyJon Jordan
JJordan@wesleylife.org
712-243-1850
Exercise group also available
Heritage House
1200 Brookridge Cir
Atlantic, IA 50022
Burlington/

 

Des Moines County

Stephie Libben
slibben@grhs.net
————————————-
Julie Kirk
jkirk@grhs.net
319-759-4575
Great River Medical Center – Black Hawk Room
1221 Gear Avenue
Burlington, IA 52655
Carroll/Carroll CountyMelissa Schultes
mschultes@stanthonyhospital.org
712-794-5815
Exercise group also available
St. Anthony’s Regional Hospital
311 S. Clark
Carroll, IA 51401
Cascade/Dubuque CountyBrenda Williams Cascade Area Parkinson’s Support – CAPS
caps.52033@gmail.com
563-590-4364
https://www.facebook.com/CascadeAreaParkinsonSupport  
Available by phone or email for support, currently not meeting in-person due to covid
Claddagh Court’s Lower Building
506 Sixth Avenue NW
Cascade, IA
Cedar Rapids/Linn County

 

 

John Krumbholz
Krummy1968@gmail.com
319-350-7482
Exercise group also available
St. Patrick’s Center
120 5th St NW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52405
Centerville/AppanooseKaty Dykes
kdykes@mercydesmoines.org
641-437-3454
Mercy Medical Center
One St. Joseph’s Drive
Centerville, IA 52544
Charles City/Floyd CountyCarol Quade
carol@fiai.net
641-228-5053
St. John’s Lutheran Church
300 South Main St
Charles City, IA 50616
Clinton/Clinton CountyLori Kennedy
Lori.kennedy3@gmail.com
563-242-7502
Zion Lutheran Church
439 3rd Avenue S
Clinton, IA 52732
Council Bluffs/ Pottawattamie CountyMolly George
mgeorge@heritage-communities.com
712-256-2741
Caregiver group also available.
Currently not meeting

 

Fox Run Assisted Living
3121 McIneery Drive
Council Bluffs, IA 51501

Creston/Union CountyCurrently not meeting,Southern Prairie Fitness
Davenport/Scott County Gene Kennion
————————————-
Julie Norman-Geerts
563-271-7690
Caregiver group also available
Palmer Hills Retirement Center
2617 Maplecrest Rd
Bettendorf, IA 52722
Decorah/

 

Winneshiek County

David Dobson
davidpauldobson@hotmail.com
563-735-5836
Currently not meeting due to Covid-19          Winneshiek Medical Center
901 Montgomery St
Decorah, IA 52101
Des Moines/Polk CountyValerie Stickle-Diehl
VStickel-Diehl@mercydesmoines.org
515-358-0002
Caregiver group also available. Meets March- November
Currently not meeting due to Covid-19
Mercy Hospital – East Tower
1111 6th Ave
Des Moines, IA
Des Moines/Polk CountyAlee Phillips
acphillips@wesleylife.org
515-271-6596
Wesley Acres
3520 Grand Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa, 50312
Dubuque/Dubuque CountyGerald Osterhaus
gerryosty@mchsi.com
563-582-7313
UnityPoint – Finley Hospital
350 N Grandview Ave
Dubuque, IA 52001
Dyersville/Dubuque CountyCatherine Tegeler
spikesina123@yahoo.com
563-875-7029
Ellen Kennedy Living Center
1177 7th St., SW
Dyersville, IA
Fairfield/Jefferson CountyMichelle Boeding Krueter
mboedingkreuter@jeffersoncountyhealthcenter.org
Jefferson County Health Center Conference Room C
2000 S. Main St.
Fairfield, IA 52556
Grinnell/Poweshiek CountyGeorgia Plumb
plumbge@gmail.com
641-236-9570
615 Horseshoe Dr. St. E
Grinnell, IA 50157
2:00 pm every 3rd Thursday
Guttenberg/Clayton CountyMiranda Barnhart
mbarnhart@abcmcorp.com
563-252-2288
Eagle Ridge Assisted Living
1329 Acre St
Guttenberg, IA 52052
Guttenberg/Clayton CountyJanet Hefel
parkinsonclaytoncounty@gmail.com
563-252-3518
Guttenberg Hospital
200 Main St
Guttenberg, IA 52052
Iowa City/Johnson CountyWanda Crombie w.crombie@mchsi.com   319-358-0306

 

or Ed Pierson e.pierson2325@gmail.com

Grand Living at Bridgewater
3 Russell Slade Boulevard
Coralville, IA 52241
Leon/Decatur CountyJen Barker
jbarker@d-c-h.org
641-446-2229
link to information
Decatur County Hospital
1405 NW Church St
Leon, Iowa 50144
Marshalltown/ Marshall CountyDennis Eige
ldeige@hotmail.com
641-753-8463
Glenwood Place Assisted Living
2907 S. 6th St.
Marshalltown, IA 50158
Muscatine/
Muscatine County
Pat and Wayne Corriell
pat.corriell@gmail.com
563-649-2285
————————————-
John and Karen Schaub
jschaub@machlink.com
563-263-1866
Muscatine County Extension Office
1514 Isett Avenue
Muscatine, IA
Newton/
Jasper County
Eloise Prater
jeprater1607@gmail.com
641-791-1018
Wesley Park Center
500 First Street North
Newton, IA 50208
Ottumwa/
Wapello County
Elstephany Guido
guidoe14@gmail.com
641-684-6571
Ottumwa YMCA
611 N Hancock St.
Ottumwa, IA 52501
Pella/ Marion CountyNatasha Nikkel
nnikkel@wesleylife.org
641-620-4269
Hearthstone, A Ministry of WesleyLife
608 E 2nd St
Pella, IA 50219
Sioux Center/Sioux CountyGlenda Vanlaren
Glenda.VanLaren@schospital.org
712-722-8256
Royal Meadows Care Center
1400 7th Avenue
Sioux Center, IA
Sioux City/Woodbury County

 

 

Sally Reinert
sreinert@evertek.net
402-987-3516
Siouxland Center for Active Generation
313 Cook Street
Sioux City, IA 51103
Storm Lake/

 

Buena Vista County

Glen Schulz
glennschulz1949@gmail.com
201-317-3318
St. Mark Lutheran Church
1614 West 5th Street
Storm Lake, IA 50588
Waukee/Dallas CountyMegan DuBay
mhoffman@stcroixhospice.com
515-229-8862
 Independence Village Community Room
1650 SE Holiday Crest Circle
Waukee, IA 50263
Waverly/Bremer CountyMary Ochoa
mochoa@waverlyhealthcenter.org
319-352-4961
Waverly Health Center
312 9th Street SW
Waverly, IA 50677
West Des Moines/Polk County

 

 

Lynhon Stout
lynhon19@gmail.com
515-965-9245
Grand Living Tower Place
540 S. 51st Street
West Des Moines, IA
515-850-5540
West Des Moines-Edgewater, A WesleyLife Community/Polk CountyEryn O’Rourke
515-978-2406
eorourke@wesleylife.org
Edgewater,
A WesleyLife Community
9225 Cascade Ave.
West Des Moines, IA 50266
West Des Moines/Polk CountyYoung Onset Support Group
Kim Roby
kimbo6179@aol.com
————————————-
Michelle Lorey
mlorey1968@gmail.com
Please contact Kim Roby or Michelle Lorey for information about location and timings.

 

Private Facebook Group- Search: Parkinson’s Young Onset Support Group of Iowa.

Winterset/Madison CountyCurrently not meeting due to Covid-19Madison County Hospital
300 W Hutchings St
Winterset, IA 50273
Urbandale/Polk CountyLewy Body Dementia Support Group
Cookie Cranston
515-306-2925
Currently meeting on Zoom and in person at
Gloria Dei Lutheran Church
Urbandale, IA 50322
 Bettendorf, IA/Scott CountyLewy Body Dementia Support Group
Marilyn Woelke, mAG, LMSW, CDS
mewoelke@gmail.com
309-781-6462
The Fountains Senior Living
3726 Thunder Ridge Rd.
Bettendorf, IA

Support Our Mission

To support your local Support Groups chapter, please click the button below:

DONATE