Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

The Board comprises scientists with nationally recognized expertise in a variety of leading edge research areas within the field of Parkinson’s disease.

APDA grants are awarded through a competitive application process and reviewed by APDA’s Scientific Advisory Board (SAB). A rigorous review and scoring process of the applications is conducted by the SAB when it convenes annually to review the proposals. In order to be considered for funding, only applications which meet the highest quality are recommended by to the APDA Board of Directors for. Scoring of the grants includes three major areas of criteria including: overall significance and impact in the field of Parkinson’s disease, the appropriateness of the principal investigator and the academic and scientific environment for the proposed project, and the feasibility of the proposed budget and time period for completion.

APDA Scientific Advisory Board: (Back row L-R) Joel S. Perlmutter, MD, Washington University School of Medicine; Dennis W. Dickson, MD, Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville; Un Jung Kang, MD, New York Langone Fresco Institute for Parkinson’s and Movement Disorders; Richard Myers, PhD, Boston University School of Medicine; David G. Standaert, MD, PhD, Chairman of the APDA SAB, University of Alabama at Birmingham; Patrick McDermott, Chairman, APDA Board of Directors; Clemens R. Scherzer, MD, Harvard Medical School and Brigham & Women’s Hospital; Vivek K. Unni, MD, PhD, Oregon Health & Science University. (Front row L-R); Mary Maral Mouradian, MD, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School: Marie Hélène Saint-Hilaire, MD, FRCP (C), Boston University School of Medicine; Leslie A. Chambers, President & CEO, APDA; Rebecca Gilbert, MD, PhD, VP and Chief Scientific Officer, APDA; J. Timothy Greenamyre, MD, PhD, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. (Not pictured); Mahlon R. DeLong, MD, Emory University School of Medicine; Laura Marsh, MD, Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center; Jill L. Ostrem, MD, University of California San Francisco; Evan Yale Snyder, MD, PhD, The Burnham Institute.

SAB Emeritus

James Bennett, MD, PhD
Marie-Francoise Chesselet, MD, PhD
Mahlon DeLong, MD
Richard Myers, PhD
Jacob Sage, MD
Ray Watts, MD
G Frederick Wooten Jr., MD

David G. Standaert, MD, PhD, Chairman
John N. Whitaker Professor and Chair of Neurology
University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Medicine, Birmingham, AL

Dennis W. Dickson, MD
Professor of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology
Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, FL

J. Timothy Greenamyre,
Love Family Professor & Vice-Chair of Neurology
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA

Un Jung Kang, MD
Founders Professor, Department of Neurology
New York Langone Health Fresco Institute for Parkinson’s and Movement Disorders,   New York, NY

Laura Marsh, MD
Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
Michael E. DeBakey, VA Medical Center, Houston, TX

Mary Maral Mouradian, MD
William Dow Lovett Professor of Neurology
Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Piscataway, NJ

Jill Ostrum, MD
Professor of Neurology Division Chief, UCSF Movement Disorder and Neuromodulation Center Weill Institute for Neurosciences, University of California San Francisco
University of California San Francisco

Joel S. Perlmutter, MD
Elliot Stein Family Professor of Neurology
Professor of Radiology, Neurobiology, Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy
Washington University School of Medicine, St Louis, MO

Marie Hélène Saint-Hilaire,
Professor of Neurology
Boston University School of Medicine, Boston, MA

Clemens R. Scherzer, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology
Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, MA

Evan Yale Snyder, MD, PhD
Director, Stem Cell & Regeneration Program
The Burnham Institute, La Jolla, CA

Vivek K. Unni, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Oregon Health & Science University
Department of Neurology
Jungers Center for Neurosciences Research
Parkinson Center of Oregon, Portland, OR