Support Groups

Support Groups

(Updated September 2017)

These support groups are for people with Parkinson’s and their caregivers. Each support group is facilitated by a peer or health professional. The format of each support group varies, but many have monthly speakers who speak about topics such as nutrition, exercise, physical therapy, and voice therapy.
If you are interested in starting a support group in your area, please contact 515-241-6379 or kylie.thompson@unitypoint.org


Search by map or see list below for current support groups in Iowa

Updated September 2017

City/CountyLeader/PhoneLocation
Algona/Kossuth CountyJen Carr
jeni@algonaymca.org
515-295-7701
Exercise group also available
YMCA
221 E Elm
Algona, IA 50511
Ames/Story CountyKari Stock
stockk@mgmc.org
515-239-2323
Acute Rehab at Mary Greely Medical Center
1111 Duff Ave.
Ames, IA 50010
Anamosa/Jones CountyAllison Niedermann
Allison.Niedermann@unitypoint.org
319-481-6195
Exercise group also available
UnityPoint Health – Jones Regional Medical Center
1795 HWY 64 East
Anamosa, IA 52205
Atlantic/Cass CountyJon Jordan
JJordan@wesleylife.org
712-243-1850
Exercise group also available
Heritage House
1200 Brookridge Cir
Atlantic, IA 50022
Burlington/

Des Moines County

Elaine Baxter
elainbax@msn.com
319-754-4372
————————————-
Julie Kirk
jkirk@grhs.net
319-759-4575
Great River Medical Center – Black Hawk Room
1221 Gear Avenue
Burlington, IA 52655
Carroll/Carroll CountyMelissa Schultes
mschultes@stanthonyhospital.org
712-794-5815
Exercise group also available
St. Anthony’s Regional Hospital
311 S. Clark
Carroll, IA 51401
Cascade/Dubuque CountyBrenda Williams
circleb@netins.net
563-590-4364
Claddagh Court’s Lower Building
506 Sixth Avenue NW
Cascade, IA
Cedar Rapids/Linn County

 

John Krumbholz
Krummy1968@gmail.com
319-350-7482
Exercise group also available
St. Patrick’s Center
120 5th St NW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52405
Centerville/AppanooseKaty Dykes
kdykes@mercydesmoines.org
641-437-3432
Mercy Medical Center
One St. Joseph’s Drive
Centerville, IA 52544
Charles City/Floyd CountyCarol Quade
carol@fiai.net
641-228-5053
St. John’s Lutheran Church
300 South Main St
Charles City, IA 50616
Clinton/Clinton CountyDon and Rita Schneider
563-357-0562
RSchneider@wpf-cpa.com
Mercy Medical Center
1410 N 4th St. (South Campus Board Room)
Clinton, IA 52732
Council Bluffs/ Pottawattamie CountyMolly George
mcampbell@heritage-communities.com
712-256-2741
Caregiver group also available.
Fox Run Assisted Living
3121 McIneery Drive
Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Creston/Union CountyMyra & Chuck Spindler
chuck.spindlerii@gmail.com
641-344-6629
Crest Baptist Church
1211 N. Poplar St.
Creston, IA 50801
Davenport/Scott CountyBarb Warren
Barb/warwar@gmail.com
563-579-7378
————————————-
Larry Nahrgang larrynahrgang@yahoo.com
309-755-0092
Caregiver group also available
Ridgecrest Village, Crest Activity Room
4130 Northwest Blvd
Davenport, IA 52806
Decorah/

Winneshiek County

David Dobson
davidpauldobson@hotmail.com
563-735-5836
Winneshiek Medical Center
901 Montgomery St
Decorah, IA 52101
Des Moines/Polk CountyValerie Stickle-Diehl
VStickel-Diehl@mercydesmoines.org
515-358-0002
Caregiver group also available.
Mercy Hospital – East Tower
1111 6th Ave
Des Moines, IA
Des Moines/Polk CountyWomen and Parkinson’s Disease – Iowa
Sam Erwin
spiritartmove@gmail.com
515-419-3307
Contact facilitator for more information on dates and locations. Follow the group on Facebook by searching “Women & Parkinson’s Disease – Iowa”
Des Moines/Polk CountyLindsay Waechter
lwaechter@wesleylife.org
515-271-6596
Wesley Acres
3520 Grand Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa, 50312
Dubuque/Dubuque County

 

Gerald Osterhaus
gerryosty@mchsi.com
563-582-7313
UnityPoint – Finley Hospital
350 N Grandview Ave
Dubuque, IA 52001
Dyersville/Dubuque CountyCatherine Tegeler
spikesina123@yahoo.com
563-875-7029
Ellen Kennedy Living Center
1177 7th St., SW
Dyersville, IA
Estherville/Emmet CountyEric Erickson
eerickson@seasonscenter.org
712-209-1159
Estherville Public Library
613 Center Ave.
Estherville, IA 51334
Grinnell/Poweshiek CountyGeorgia Plumb
plumbge@gmail.com
641-236-9570
615 Horseshoe Dr. St. E
Grinnell, IA 50157
2:00pm every 3rd Thursday
Guttenberg/Clayton CountyBillee Jo Hefel
bhefel@abcmcorp.com
563-252-2288 ext. 128
Eagle Ridge Assisted Living 1329 Acre Street, Guttenberg, IA
Independence/

Buchanan County

Betty Orr
jorrb@indytel.com
319-938-2825
Buchanan County Health Center
1600 1st St E
Independence, IA
Iowa City/Johnson CountyDottie Armens d_armens@hotmail.com
319-400-0506
————————————-
Wanda Crombie
w.crombie@mchsi.com
————————————-
Ed Pierson
e.pierson2325@gmail.com
Mercy Medical Plaza
540 E. Jefferson St.
Iowa City, IA 52245
Marshalltown/ Marshall CountyDennis Eige
ldeige@hotmail.com
641-753-8463
Glenwood Place Assisted Living
2907 S. 6th St.Marshalltown, IA 50158
Mason City/Clear Lake

Cerro Gordo County

Martha Boyes
marthaboyes@gmail.com
641-357-3609 (Home)
641-231-0007 (Cell)
Kentucky Ridge Asst Living Chapel
2060 S. Kentucky Ave
Mason City, IA 50401
Muscatine/

Muscatine County

Pat and Wayne Corriell
pat.corriell@gmail.com
563-649-2285
————————————-
John and Karen Schaub
jschaub@machlink.com
563-263-1866
Muscatine County Extension Office
1514 Isett Avenue
Muscatine, IA
Newton/

Jasper County

Eloise Prater
jeprater1607@gmail.com
641-791-1018
Wesley Park Center
500 First Street North
Newton, IA 50208
Pella/ Marion CountyNatasha Nikkel
nnikkel@wesleylife.org
641-620-4219
Hearthstone, A Ministry of WesleyLife
608 E 2nd St
Pella, IA 50219
Sioux Center/Sioux CountyGlenda Vanlaren
Glenda.VanLaren@schospital.org
712-722-8256
Royal Meadows Care Center
1400 7th Avenue
Sioux Center, IA
Sioux City/Woodbury County

 

Sally Reinert
sreinert@evertek.net
402-987-3516
Siouxland Center for Active Generation
313 Cook Street
Sioux City, IA 51103
Storm Lake/

Buena Vista County

Bonnie Hunter
bjhunter6@mediacombb.net
712-732-3383
St. Mark Lutheran Church
1614 West 5th Street
Storm Lake, IA 50588
Vinton/Benton CountyStacey Hodges
mark.redlinger@RehabVisions.com
shodges@vghinc.com
319-472-6372
Virginia Gay Hospital
502 N 9th Ave
Vinton, IA
Waterloo/

Blackhawk County

Terry Hertges
Beno08@aol.com
319-239-6865
Covenant Medical Center Room 10
3421 West 9th Street
Waterloo, IA
Waverly/Bremer CountyMary Ochoa
mochoa@waverlyhealthcenter.org
319-352-4961
Waverly Health Center
312 9th Street SW
Waverly, IA 50677
West Des Moines/Polk County

 

Mary Adkins
bjamla@aol.com
515-480-4090
Mercy Health & Fitness Center
12493 University Ave
Clive, IA 50325
West Des Moines-Edgewater, A WesleyLife Community/Polk CountyBetty Bush
bettyjbush@gmail.com
515-978-2937
Edgewater, A WesleyLife Community
9225 Cascade Ave.
West Des Moines, IA 50266
West Des Moines/Polk CountyYoung Onset Support Group

Sean Jenkins
sjjenk@gmail.com
————————————-
Shirley Burke
xsli77@yahoo.com

Please contact Sean Jenkins for information about location and timings.
Winterset/Madison CountyTamara Bridgeman
tbridgeman@madisonhealth.com
515-202-6151
Madison County Hospital
300 W Hutchings St
Winterset, IA 50273
Trenton, MissouriGloria Koon
660.339-8006
Royal Inn Pizza
1410 E 9th St
Trenton, MO 64683
Moline, IllinoisMarilyn Woelke
mewoelke@gmail.com
309-781-6462
Addus Evergreen Adult Day CenterAvenue of the Cities & 41st Street, Moline, IL 61265

 


Share this page: